< img height="1" width="1" style="display:none;" alt="" src="https://px.ads.linkedin.com/collect/?pid=4257548&fmt=gif" />

注射紫外线?- 紫外线血液照射(UBI)

蓝色
没有找到项目。

紫外线血液照射(UBI)在20世纪40年代和50年代被广泛用于治疗许多疾病,包括败血症、肺炎、肺结核、关节炎、哮喘,甚至小儿麻痹症。早期的研究是由美国的几位医生进行的,并发表在《美国外科杂志》上。但随着抗生素的发展,UBI的使用逐渐减少,现在已经被称为"被时间遗忘的治疗方法"。俄罗斯工人和其他东方国家大多进行了后来的研究,现代西方国家的观点是UBI仍然存在很大争议。

目前还没有微生物对紫外线照射产生抗药性的报道,对多种抗生素有抗药性的菌株与野生型菌株一样容易受到影响。低度和轻度紫外线通过破坏DNA来杀灭微生物,而DNA修复酶可以迅速修复宿主细胞中任何DNA损伤。然而,UBI治疗败血症不能仅仅是由于UV介导的杀死血流中的细菌,因为只有5-7%的血容量需要用UV处理才能产生最佳效益。UBI可增强各种吞噬细胞(中性粒细胞和树突状细胞)的吞噬能力,抑制淋巴细胞,氧化血脂。UBI的氧化性可能与臭氧疗法和其他氧疗法有共同的机制。

紫外线(UV)

Ultraviolet (UV) radiation is part of the electromagnetic spectrum with a wavelength range (100–400 nm) shorter than that of visible light (400–700 nm) but longer than x-rays (<100 nm). UV radiation is divided into four distinct spectral areas, including vacuum UV (100–200 nm), UVC (200–280 nm), UVB (280–315 nm), and UVA (315–400 nm). Only part of UVB and UVA can reach on earth because wavelengths shorter than 280 nm are filtered out by the atmosphere, especially by the “ozone layer.”

19世纪下半叶,被称为"日光疗法"的太阳光治疗应用逐渐流行起来。1855年,来自瑞士的Rikli在斯洛文尼亚的Veldes开设了一个热疗站,提供日光疗法。1877年,唐斯和布兰特偶然发现阳光可以杀死细菌。他们注意到,放在窗台上的糖水在阴凉处会变浑浊,但在阳光下却依然清晰。在对这两种溶液进行显微镜检查后,他们发现,在阴凉处的溶液中,细菌在生长,而在阳光下的溶液中却没有细菌。

华盛顿州西雅图的Emmett K Knott推断,Ude获得的紫外线照射对皮肤的有益作用可能是通过照射皮肤浅层毛细血管中循环的血液来解释的。与他的合作者Edblom一起,建造了一个照射室,使血液直接暴露在紫外线下。辐照室是圆形的,里面有一组迷宫般的通道,连接着进气口和出气口。所有这些通道都被一个石英窗覆盖,形成了辐照室的顶部。辐照室的设计是为了提供血液流经的最大湍流。这样做是为了(a)防止在室窗上形成一层薄薄的血膜,从而吸收和过滤掉大部分紫外线;(b)确保所有通过室的血液都同样暴露在紫外线下。

履行机构的作用机制

自第一位患者接受治疗以来的近90年时间里,UBI一直面临的主要障碍之一是对作用机制缺乏了解。多年来,这种不确定性阻碍了广大医学界对它的接受。人们普遍认为,既然紫外线是用于水和手术器械的消毒,因此其用于抗感染也必须依靠紫外线介导的病原体的直接破坏,这就造成了混乱。另一个非常令人困惑的方面是各种各样的疾病,这些疾病都声称被UBI成功治疗。人们常常认为,看起来"好得不像真的"的东西通常是真的。

UBI影响红细胞和各种白细胞的各种功能,这在各种体外研究中得到了证明。一个常见的模型是混合白细胞培养中的刺激细胞;另一个是有丝分裂原刺激培养中的帮助细胞。紫外线还能逆转细胞因子的产生,阻止细胞因子的释放。紫外线还可以干扰细胞膜的动员。

对红血球的影响

厌氧条件强烈抑制了长波紫外线诱导红细胞K+离子丢失的过程。已证明紫外线照射可影响红细胞的渗透性、亚显微结构和腺嘌呤核苷酸的代谢。采用照射时间(60、120、180、240和300分钟),在照射过程中,ATP减少,而ADP、AXP和腺嘌呤化合物的量增加。紫外线还增加了低渗的Na+、K+离子交换,血细胞比值增加。

采用含有聚葡聚糖的两相聚合物体系,表明紫外线照射后,循环红细胞的细胞表面减少。这有助于延长输血红细胞的存活期,并被认为是自体输血具有更有效治疗活性的原因。

对淋巴细胞(T细胞和B细胞)的影响。

UBI一般会降低淋巴细胞的活力。紫外线照射是三个紫外线光谱区中最有效的。UVB和UVC照射可取消淋巴细胞在体外的增殖和刺激能力及附属/抗原呈递能力。细胞表面特性、钙的动员、细胞因子的产生和释放以及其他亚细胞过程都可能被紫外线照射改变。Areltt等用"彗星"法检测DNA链断裂(单细胞凝胶电泳)作为切除修复的指标,证明循环中的人T淋巴细胞对UV-B辐射的DNA损伤和致死作用具有极高的敏感性,提出了UV-B可能通过直接作用于毛细血管外T淋巴细胞而导致免疫抑制的可能性。

对血小板的影响

紫外线剂量较浅时,血小板中H2O2的产生量较少,但当剂量增加到0.4J/cm2以上时,H2O2的产生量突然增加。Pamphilon报道,血小板浓缩液(PC)在UVR后,在杜邦Stericell容器中保存5天后,可成为非免疫原。紫外线后乳酸水平、β-凝血酶原和血小板因子较高。相反,在杜邦Stericell袋中应用平均波长为310nm的3000J/m2的照射剂量时,葡萄糖水平下降。紫外线B(UVB)照射血小板浓缩液(PC)可加速CD14的下调,并通过抑制ICAM-1和HLA-DR的上调,非特异性地增加单核细胞的损失。然而,血小板浓缩物的紫外线照射产生了细胞悬浮液免疫反应的降低。

购买UVC设备前需要考虑的事项

在投资UVC魔棒或其他UVC设备之前,你应该考虑一些事情。

首先要考虑的是:安全问题。专家表示,紫外线会影响皮肤细胞,就像它杀死细菌一样,它可以使皮肤细胞发生突变,导致皮肤癌。看紫外线灯也会导致不可逆的失明。

在这里开颜医疗建议大家寻找带有安全开关自动"关闭"按钮的UVC设备,一旦你有直接暴露的风险,就会立即停止光的发射。

其次要考虑:产品的合法性。我们在市场上看到过一些假冒的紫外线消费产品。但除非你家里有一个实时测量波长的设备(也就是光谱仪),否则无法区分使用紫外线和其他紫外线的产品。

结论

上世纪四五十年代,紫外线照射血液被誉为治疗严重感染的奇迹疗法。具有讽刺意味的是,这个历史时期恰好是青霉素类抗生素广泛问世的时期,人们迅速发现青霉素类抗生素是一种更大的医学奇迹疗法。此外,UBI的另一大成功,即越来越多地用于治疗小儿麻痹症,也因1955年Salk小儿麻痹症疫苗的问世而黯然失色。UBI原本是美国人的发现,但后来被过渡到俄罗斯等东方国家研究得更多,因为这些国家长期以来专注于物理疗法治疗许多疾病,而西方国家更多的是通常用药物治疗。

然而,在过去十年中,多重抗生素耐药性细菌的问题不断增加。耐多药性和泛耐药性菌株及其相关感染正在对全世界的公共健康构成威胁。这些病菌的死亡率高出约两倍,住院时间大大延长。由于治疗选择范围有限,抗生素耐药菌株引起的感染往往很难治疗。最近在2015年2月,《抗菌素耐药性评论》指出:"如果不解决耐药性感染问题,到2050年,全世界每年可能会多死1000万人。到这一天,它们还可能使世界损失约100万亿美元的产出:超过目前世界经济的规模,大致相当于世界每年损失英国经济的产出,持续35年"。

Injecting UV Light? - Ultraviolet blood irradiation (UBI)

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Ultraviolet blood irradiation (UBI) was extensively used in the 1940s and 1950s to treat many diseases, including septicemia, pneumonia, tuberculosis, arthritis, asthma, and even poliomyelitis. The early studies were carried out by several physicians in the USA and published in the American Journal of Surgery. However, with the development of antibiotics, UBI use declined, and it has now been called “the cure that time forgot.” Russian workers and other Eastern countries mostly performed later studies, and the modern view in Western countries is that UBI remains highly controversial.

No resistance of microorganisms to UV irradiation has been reported, and multi- antibiotic-resistant strains are as susceptible as their wild-type counterparts. Low and mild UV kill microorganisms by damaging the DNA, while DNA repair enzymes can rapidly repair any DNA damage in host cells. However, UBI treats septicemia cannot be solely due to UV-mediated killing of bacteria in the blood-stream, as only 5–7% of blood volume needs to be treated with UV to produce the optimum benefit. UBI may enhance the phagocytic capacity of various phagocytic cells (neutrophils and dendritic cells), inhibit lymphocytes, and oxidize blood lipids. The oxidative nature of UBI may have mechanisms in common with ozone therapy and other oxygen therapies.

Ultraviolet (UV)

Ultraviolet (UV) radiation is part of the electromagnetic spectrum with a wavelength range (100–400 nm) shorter than that of visible light (400–700 nm) but longer than x-rays (<100 nm). UV radiation is divided into four distinct spectral areas, including vacuum UV (100–200 nm), UVC (200–280 nm), UVB (280–315 nm), and UVA (315–400 nm). Only part of UVB and UVA can reach on earth because wavelengths shorter than 280 nm are filtered out by the atmosphere, especially by the “ozone layer.”

In the second half of the nineteenth century, the therapeutic application of sunlight known as heliotherapy gradually became popular. In 1855, Rikli from Switzerland opened a thermal station in Veldes in Slovenia to provide helio-therapy. In 1877, Downes and Blunt discovered by chance that sunlight could kill bacteria. They noted that sugar water placed on a window-sill turned cloudy in the shade but remained clear while in the sun. Upon microscopic examination of the two solutions, they realized that bacteria were growing in the shaded solution but not in the one exposed to sunlight.

Emmett K Knott in Seattle, WA, reasoned that the beneficial effects of UV irradiation to the skin obtained by Ude might be explained by the irradiation of blood circulating in the superficial capillaries of the skin. With his collaborator Edblom, an irradiation chamber was constructed to allow direct blood exposure to UV. The irradiation chamber was circular and contained a labyrinthine set of channels that connected the inlet and outlet ports. All these channels were covered with a quartz window that formed the top of the chamber. The irradiation chamber was designed to provide maximum turbulence of the blood flowing through. This was done to (a) prevent the formation of a thin film of blood on the chamber window that would absorb and filter out much of the UV light; (b) ensure that all the blood passing through the chamber was equally exposed to UV.

Mechanisms of Action of UBI

One of the major obstacles that UBI has consistently faced throughout the almost 90 years since the first patient was treated has been the lack of understanding of action mechanisms. Over the years, its acceptance by the broad medical community has been hindered by this uncertainty. Confusion has been caused by the widely held idea that since UV is used for sterilization of water and surgical instruments; therefore its use against infection must also rely on UV-mediated direct destruction of pathogens. Another highly confusing aspect is the wide assortment of diseases, which have been claimed to be successfully treated by UBI. It is often thought that something that appears to be “too good to be true” usually is.

UBI affects various functions of red blood cells and various leukocytes, as proven in various in vitro studies. A common model is stimulator cells in mixed leukocyte cultures; another is helper cells in mitogen-stimulated cultures. UV also reversed cytokine production and blocked cytokine release. UV can also disturb cell membrane mobilization.

Effects on Red Blood Cells

Anaerobic conditions strongly inhibited the process by which long-wave UV light induces the loss of K+ ions from red blood cells. Has been proved that UV-irradiation could affect the osmotic properties of red blood cells, the submicroscopic structure, and adenine nucleotides' metabolism. Irradiation times (60, 120, 180, 240, and 300 minutes) were used; during the irradiation, ATP decreased while the amounts of ADP, AXP, and adenine compounds increased. UV also increased hypotonic Na +, and K+ ion exchange and the hematocrit value increased.

A two-phase polymer system containing poly-dextran was used to show that circulating erythrocytes' cell surface was reduced after UV irradiation. This contributed to the prolongation of survival of transfused erythrocytes and was suggested to explain the more effective therapeutic activity of autotransfusion blood.

Effects on Lymphocytes (T-Cells and B-Cells)

UBI generally decreases lymphocyte viability. UVC irradiation is the most effective among the three UV spectral regions. UVB and UVC irradiation can abolish the proliferative and stimulatory ability and the accessory/ antigen-presenting ability of lymphocytes in vitro. The cell-surface properties, calcium mobilization, cytokine production and release, and other sub-cellular processes could all be changed by UV irradiation. Areltt et al. used the “Comet “assay to detect DNA-strand breakage (single-cell gel electrophoresis) as an indicator of excision repair to prove that circulating human T–lymphocytes were exquisitely hyper-sensitive to the DNA-damaging and lethal effects of UV-B radiation, raising the possibility that UV-B may contribute to immunosuppression via a direct effect on extra capillary T-lymphocytes.

Effects on Platelets

H2O2 production in platelets is low at a shallow UV dose, but it increased suddenly as the dose increased above 0.4 J/cm2. Pamphilon reported that platelet concentrates (PC) could become non-immunogenic after UVR and after being stored for 5 days in DuPont Stericell containers. Lactate levels, β-thrombomodulin, and platelet factor were higher after UV. In contrast, glucose levels decreased with an irradiation dose of 3000 J/m2 at a mean wavelength of 310 nm applied in DuPont Stericell bags. Ultraviolet B (UVB) irradiation of platelet concentrate (PC) accelerated downregulation of CD14 and nonspecifically increased the loss of monocytes by inhibiting the upregulation of ICAM-1 and HLA-DR. However, UV irradiation of platelet concentrates produced a reduction of immunological response in a cell suspension.

Things to consider before buying a UVC device

There are a few things you should consider before investing in a UVC wand or other UVC devices.

The first and most important thing to consider: safety. Experts have said UVC can affect skin cells the same way it kills bacteria; it can cause mutations in them and lead to skin cancer. Looking at UVC lights can cause irreversible blindness, too.

Here in Kaiyan Medical, we suggest that you look for UVC devices that come with safety switches — automatic “turn-off” buttons that halt the light emission as soon as you’re at risk of direct exposure.

The second thing to consider: the legitimacy of the product. We have seen some counterfeit UVC consumer products on the market. But unless you have a device at home that measures wavelength in realtime (aka a spectrometer), there’s no way of distinguishing products that use UVC rays versus other UV rays.

Conclusion

UV irradiation of blood was hailed as a miracle therapy for treating serious infections in the 1940s and 1950s. In an ironic quirk of fate, this historical time period coincided with the widespread introduction of penicillin antibiotics, which were rapidly found to be an even bigger medical miracle therapy. Moreover, another major success of UBI, which was becoming increasingly used to treat polio, was also eclipsed by the introduction of the Salk polio vaccine in 1955. UBI had originally been an American discovery but then was transitioned to being more studied in Russia and other eastern countries, which had long concentrated on physical therapies for many diseases, which were more usually treated with drugs in the West.

However, in the last decade, the problem of multi-antibiotic-resistant bacteria has grown relentlessly. Multidrug-resistant (MDR) and pan drug-resistant (PDR) bacterial strains and their related infections are emerging threats to public health throughout the world. These are associated with approximately two-fold higher mortality rates and considerably prolonged hospital admissions. The infections caused by antibiotic-resistant strains are often tough to treat due to the limited therapeutic options range. Recently in Feb 2015, the Review on Antimicrobial Resistance stated, “Drug-resistant infections could kill an extra 10 million people across the world every year by 2050 if they are not tackled. By this date, they could also cost the world around $100 trillion in the lost output: more than the size of the current world economy, and roughly equivalent to the world losing the output of the UK economy every year, for 35 years”.